Ensuring retail success since 1903.


“To ensure retail success by informing, protecting, advocating, educating and saving money for members”


Founded in 1903, the Australian Retailers Association (ARA) is the retail industry’s peak representative body representing Australia’s more than $300 billion sector, which employs more than 1.2 million people.



The ARA Council is the governing board of the Australian Retailers Association, comprising of representatives from Australian retail businesses large and small.

  • Roger Gillespie
      Roger GillespieARA Council President, Founder & CEO Bakers Delight
    • Toby Bensimon
        Toby BensimonShiels & Grahams Jewellers
      • Russell Zimmerman
          Russell ZimmermanExecutive Director, Australian Retailers Association
        • David Bisset
            David BissetLS travel Retail Pacific
          • Robyn Batson
              Robyn BatsonSussan Group
            • Wayne Curnuck
                Wayne CurnuckCurious Grace
              • Ralph Edwards
                  Ralph EdwardsBrightEyes
                • Mhairi Holway
                    Mhairi HolwayPandora Jewelery
                  • Liz Siminsky
                      Liz SiminskyJames Pascoe Group
                    • Mary Poulakis
                        Mary PoulakisHarrolds
                      • Steve Plarre
                          Steve PlarreFerguson Plarre Bakehouses
                        • Graham Dear
                            Graham DearLeading Edge Buying Groups

                          ARA HISTORY


                          1903 – Master Retailers Association of NSW formed

                          1910 – Master Grocers folds and joins Master Retailers Association of NSW

                          1921 – Name changed to The Retail Traders’ Association of New South Wales

                          1940 – Australian Council of Retailers formed

                          1943 – First Australian Council of Retailers annual conference held in Melbourne

                          1974 – Australian Council of Retailers becomes Australian Retailers Association

                          1989 – Australian Retailers Association becomes Retail Traders Association of Australia

                          1991 – The Retail Traders Association of Australia becomes the Retail Council of Australia

                          1998 – Heads of agreement from state associations signed to amalgamate into the Australian Retailers Association

                          2004 – Australian Retailers Association approved as a registered organisation under the Workplace Relations Act

                          2006 – State divisions abolished and the Australian Retailers Association becomes a truly national body.

                          Contact Us

                          We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

                          Not readable? Change text.